What I’m really praying today

November 8, 2016, marks a potential day for division. Regardless how one votes, both candidates have extremely high negatives. This means that there will be tension (to say the least) in the electorate come Wednesday. What’s my role as a Christ follower in this?

  • Vote and participate. There…that’s now said.
  • Remind myself that my political leaders matter little in eternity. I serve the King ultimately. Yes, some may cause harm to a nation. They may help or hurt the church. But, they cannot harm the King or his Kingdom. His will will be done. For the sake of human suffering, I hope the better candidate wins, but I don’t hope in any candidate.
  • Pray
    • Yes, pray for my nation. I don’t understand how it will work in the new heaven and earth, but there will be nations. Rev. 22:1-2, “Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, bright as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb through the middle of the street of the city; also, on either side of the river, the tree of life with its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month. The leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations.”
    • But more than that, I am praying for churches.
      • Jesus commissioned his followers to make disciples regardless of government.  This is what Jesus wants; this is what we are to do.
      • Jesus told his followers to be light in the world. For example, while many churches failed, many influenced our nation to eliminate slavery. They stood for righteousness. Politically, we had to fight a war over it; we lost a president too.

 

So, regardless of who wins, I’m praying for churches. I’m praying for my church and my church campus. I’m praying for churches in my state and nation. Though the nations and the kings rage, my King laughs at them. We have the responsibility to spread the good news, make disciples, encourage one another, love one another, and shine. And, whatever the Lord needs to do to awaken his church, let it be done. See Psalm 2.

Leave a Reply

